Chosen!

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Exodus 31:1-3 (NIV)
Then the Lord said to Moses, “See, I have chosen Bezalel son of Uri, the son of Hur, of the tribe of Judah, and I have filled him with the Spirit of God, with wisdom, with understanding, with knowledge and with all kinds of skills…

Exodus 31:1-5 (MSG)
God spoke to Moses: “See what I’ve done; I’ve personally chosen Bezalel son of Uri, son of Hur of the tribe of Judah. I’ve filled him with the Spirit of God, giving him skill and know-how and expertise in every kind of craft…
********************************************
“Now the Lord said to Moses, “See, I have called by name Bezalel, son of Uri, the son of Hur, of the tribe of Judah. I have filled him with the Spirit of God in wisdom and skill, in understanding and intelligence, in knowledge, and in all kinds of craftsmanship…” -AMPLIFIED

God tells Moses that He has personally chosen Bezalel, because of his God-given skills, to do the work needed on the Tabernacle. Bezalel was chosen, selected, hand-picked by God.

The VOICE Version brings out some truths for us in this passage. “Look, I have a special calling upon one of the sons of Judah. His name is Bezalel (the son of Uri, son of Hur). I have filled him with God’s Spirit, gifted him with wisdom, understanding, knowledge, and skills with a variety of crafts. He is an expert designer and works well with gold, silver, and bronze. He is able to cut and set gems, work with wood, and skillfully perform any craft needed to help construct the congregation tent and its furnishings.” -Exodus 31:2-5

We see these truths in this passage:
1.) God places special callings upon people’s lives.
2.) God can gift us with certain skills; such as designing, crafting and other talents.
3.) God can gift us with certain abilities; such as wisdom, knowledge and understanding.

This reminds us of the words that God spoke to Jeremiah when He called him. “The word of the Lord came to me, saying, “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you, before you were born I set you apart; I appointed you as a prophet to the nations.” -Jeremiah 1:4-5 (NIV)

Bezalel had been hand-picked by God before he was born and God had equipped him with the abilities of a master craftsman. It was Bezalel’s job to hone those abilities; to work at them and make them better, but God had given him those talents, just as He gives all of us talents and abilities.

The Apostle Paul reminds us that we each have been chosen and selected by God for various purposes. With that selection or choosing comes various responsibilities. Paul shared these thoughts with the Colossians on the subject, “So, as God’s own chosen people, who are holy [set apart, sanctified for His purpose] and well-beloved [by God Himself], put on a heart of compassion, kindness, humility, gentleness, and patience [which has the power to endure whatever injustice or unpleasantness comes, with good temper]; bearing graciously with one another, and willingly forgiving each other if one has a cause for complaint against another; just as the Lord has forgiven you, so should you forgive. Beyond all these things put on and wrap yourselves in [unselfish] love, which is the perfect bond of unity [for everything is bound together in agreement when each one seeks the best for others].” -Colossians 3:12-14 (AMP)

God has given each of us special skills, talents and gifts. We have been chosen to be used by Him for His purposes. His plans and purposes for us were made even before we were born. The question that we must ask ourselves is this: Are we using what God has endowed us with to bring glory to Him? If we are not, we need to make some changes in our lives.

My Prayer:
Lord, be glorified in my life. I know that I am a chosen one. You created me and knew me even before I was in my mother’s womb. I am beautifully and wonderfully made, because You do all things well. Help me to use those gifts, talents and skills in honor of you and to bring glory to you. I want to make you proud of me.

Leave a Reply

