In His Presence

Growing with God:A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Exodus 25:10a, 22 (NIV)
“Have them make an ark of acacia wood—There, above the cover between the two cherubim that are over the ark of the covenant law, I will meet with you and give you all my commands for the Israelites.”

Exodus 25:10a, 22 (MSG)
“First let them make a Chest using acacia wood:~I will meet you there at set times and speak with you from above the Atonement-Cover and from between the angel-figures that are on it, speaking the commands that I have for the Israelites.”
**********************************
“They shall make an ark of acacia wood…There I will meet with you; from above the mercy seat, from between the two cherubim which are on the ark of the Testimony, I will speak [intimately] with you regarding every commandment that I will give you for the Israelites.” –AMPLIFIED

Yesterday we looked at God’s conversation with Moses and God’s instructions for the people to, “… build a sanctuary for Me, so that I may dwell among them.” Today we will look at the very first piece the God instructed Moses to have built for God’s dwelling place.

This piece held great significance; for it symbolized God’s earthly throne, among the people. It was like unto a chest, but was called the Ark of the Covenant of God.

The Ark was a magnificent piece of work. Scripture describes just the chest itself in this way: “…make it three and three-quarters feet long and two and one-quarter feet wide and deep. Cover it with a veneer of pure gold inside and out and make a molding of gold all around it. Cast four gold rings and attach them to its four feet, two rings on one side and two rings on the other. Make poles from acacia wood and cover them with a veneer of gold and insert them into the rings on the sides of the Chest for carrying the Chest. The poles are to stay in the rings; they must not be removed.” -Exodus 25:10b-15 (MSG)

The lid of the chest, which is referred to as the Atonement-Cover, was just as lavish. God told Moses, ““Now make a lid of pure gold for the Chest, an Atonement-Cover, three and three-quarters feet long and two and one-quarter feet wide.” -Exodus 25:17 (MSG)

Finally God gives instructions on the final details of the Ark and its adornment, “Sculpt two winged angels out of hammered gold for either end of the Atonement-Cover, one angel at one end, one angel at the other. Make them of one piece with the Atonement-Cover. Make the angels with their wings spread, hovering over the Atonement-Cover, facing one another but looking down on it. Set the Atonement-Cover as a lid over the Chest and place in the Chest The Testimony that I will give you.” -Exodus 25:18-21 (MSG)

As was previously mentioned, this elaborate piece was to be God’s dwelling place among His people. It was His pledge that He would abide with them and give them guidance to from His Atonement-Cover or Mercy Seat. We find God giving Moses this promise in Exodus 33:14, “And the Lord said, “My presence shall go with you, and I will give you rest [by bringing you and the people into the promised land].” -(AMP)

At this point of time, when this future encounter between Moses and God happened, Moses said to God, “If your presence doesn’t take the lead here, call this trip off right now. How else will it be known that you’re with me in this, with me and your people? Are you traveling with us or not? How else will we know that we’re special, I and your people, among all other people on this planet Earth?” -Exodus 33:15-16 (MSG)

Oh, that we too would desire and be desperate to spend time in the presence of the Lord, our God. No, we do not depend on the Ark of the Covenant to remind us of God’s presence with us, but we all need a reminder from time-to-time to make time to be in the presence of the Almighty; making an altar to Him wherever we may be.

My Prayer:
Lord, I thank you for your ever-present presence in my life. I thank you that no matter where I am I can come into your very presence and be with you. Lord, you have made it possible for me to approach you in the very Holy of Holies. You have removed any dividers between us; giving me the freedom to approach the very Throne of Grace. You did it all; I just had to accept your gift. For this, I am forever grateful. Lord, I love you!

Leave a Reply

