He is A Jealous God!

Growing With God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Exodus 20:4-6 (NIV)
“You shall not make for yourself an image in the form of anything in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the waters below. You shall not bow down to them or worship them; for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God, punishing the children for the sin of the parents to the third and fourth generation of those who hate me, but showing love to a thousand generations of those who love me and keep my commandments.

Exodus 20:4-6 (MSG)
No carved gods of any size, shape, or form of anything whatever, whether of things that fly or walk or swim. Don’t bow down to them and don’t serve them because I am God, your God, and I’m a most jealous God, punishing the children for any sins their parents pass on to them to the third, and yes, even to the fourth generation of those who hate me. But I’m unswervingly loyal to the thousands who love me and keep my commandments.
******************************************************
“You shall not make for yourself any idol, or any likeness (form, manifestation) of what is in heaven above or on the earth beneath or in the water under the earth [as an object to worship]. You shall not worship them nor serve them; for I, the Lord your God, am a jealous (impassioned) God [demanding what is rightfully and uniquely mine], visiting (avenging) the iniquity (sin, guilt) of the fathers on the children [that is, calling the children to account for the sins of their fathers], to the third and fourth generations of those who hate Me, but showing graciousness and steadfast lovingkindness to thousands [of generations] of those who love Me and keep My commandments.” -AMPLIFIED

God wastes no time getting down to the nitty-gritty with the Israelites. Unlike the Egyptians and most of the other nations around they were not to have for themselves an type of graven image to represent their god. They were not to bow down to any image or worship it; for the Lord, their God was a jealous God.

Jealousy tends to have a negative connotation in our way of thinking; and in most instances it can be. God’s jealous love for His children, though, is a pure, holy jealousy. It is a positive jealousy, not the negative form. It is God watching out for His precious, cherished, beloved children.

Take note of this fact: God will not tolerate the transfer of any attention, honor or worship that is due Him. We are not to give it to any other persona or object; only to God alone. God will not tolerate any competition. He will not endure any unfaithfulness to Him by His children. He is a jealous God.

Notice God’s response to those who chose to hate Him. “As for those who are not loyal to Me, their children will endure the consequences of their sins for three or four generations.” (VOICE)

To those who choose to love God and do what He desires; they have this promise: “But for those who love Me and keep My directives, their children will experience My loyal love for a thousand generations.” (VOICE)

Later in the book of Exodus there is a reminder to the children of Israel to keep their loyalties true to Jehovah. “Don’t let down your guard lest you make covenant with the people who live in the land that you are entering and they trip you up. Tear down their altars, smash their phallic pillars, chop down their fertility poles. Don’t worship any other god. God—his name is The-Jealous-One—is a jealous God. Be careful that you don’t make a covenant with the people who live in the land and take up with their sex-and-religion life, join them in meals at their altars, marry your sons to their women, women who take up with any convenient god or goddess and will get your sons to do the same thing.” -Exodus 34:12-16 (MSG)

Remember, God will share our loyalty with no other. He is a jealous God and there is a reason for that. Not only does He want our undivided attention, but He is responsible for us as a loving, caring, gentle Father; wanting the very best for us. God’s jealous for His children displays His great love for them. His is a holy, untarnished, loving, kind, understanding love.

My Prayer:
Lord, keep me in the center of your love. Help me to be obedient to your bidding; may I never allow anything to come between you and me. I know you are a jealous God and I know that you must have top priority in my life. There is good reason for that Lord; it is because you are a loving, caring, understanding Father who wants the very best for your children. Help me to trust your leading in my life.

Jealous God-Know Hope Collective

Now I know You would stop at nothing
To pull me close, steal my heart away
So here I am, broken and listening
Held captive here and I just want to stay

You’re a jealous God, You’re a jealous God
You are a jealous God for me, yeah
And nothing else has ever felt this real to me
You’re a jealous God, oh, You’re a jealous God

Through this life everyday You’ve chased me
Like a treasure underneath the sea
When hope was gone, Jesus, You came running
To the ends of the earth for me

‘Cause You’re a jealous God, You’re a jealous God
You are a jealous God for me
image:

And nothing else has ever felt this real to me
You’re a jealous God

You’re beautiful and furious
I tremble at the thought of this
That You would go to Calvary
How deep Your love must be for me

You’re a jealous God, You’re a jealous God
You are a jealous God for me
And nothing else has ever felt this real to me
You’re a jealous God, You are a jealous God

Now I know You would stop at nothing

Leave a Reply

