How Great is My God!

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Exodus 15:1-3 (NIV)
Then Moses and the Israelites sang this song to the Lord: “I will sing to the Lord, for he is highly exalted. Both horse and driver he has hurled into the sea. “The Lord is my strength and my defense; he has become my salvation. He is my God, and I will praise him, my father’s God, and I will exalt him. The Lord is a warrior; the Lord is his name.

Exodus 15:1-3 (MSG)
Then Moses and the Israelites sang this song to God, giving voice together, I’m singing my heart out to God – what a victory! He pitched horse and rider into the sea. God is my strength, God is my song, and, yes! God is my salvation. This is the kind of God I have and I’m telling the world! This is the God of my father – I’m spreading the news far and wide! God is a fighter, pure God, through and through.
*********************************
“Then Moses and the children of Israel sang this song to the Lord, singing, “I will sing to the Lord, for He has triumphed gloriously;
The horse and its rider He has thrown into the sea. “The Lord is my strength and my song, and He has become my salvation; this is my God, and I will praise Him; my father’s God, and I will exalt Him. “The Lord is a warrior; The Lord is His name.” -AMPLIFIED

The end of Exodus 14 is quite miraculous as we sit in our comfy chairs and read it. Imagine yourself standing on the far-side of the sea though, after having passed through on dry ground, running for your very life. Consider how it was for the Israelites, one minute hearing the sounds of the chariots and the shouts of victory coming from the Egyptians mouths; when there is a sudden “whoosh” of water and complete silence. Think of the emotions that must have been running through their minds as they ran: fear, desperation, anxiety, even hopelessness. Now consider all of that after seeing the waters come crashing down onto the Egyptian army.

“That day the Lord saved Israel from the hands of the Egyptians, and Israel saw the Egyptians lying dead on the shore. And when the Israelites saw the mighty hand of the Lord displayed against the Egyptians, the people feared the Lord and put their trust in him and in Moses his servant.” Exodus 14:30-31 (NIV)

Instantly they went from hopelessness to hopeful; from certain defeat to God-given victory. What would you have done if it had been you standing on the far-side of the sea looking down at what the Mighty Hand of God had done? Moses and the Israelites sang a song to God.

Exodus 15:1-18 is the song that they sang. It is filled with facts and details of what God had done for the children of Israel and how He did it. In fact, the first part of the song focuses mainly on the story of their deliverance. The last part focuses on the future that God is about to bring to them; as He has promised. You will find that the spotlight or focus of the song is firmly fixed on Jehovah; as it should be; for it was the Lord who had brought about this great victory for the Israelites and saved their very lives.

Moses and the people sang their hearts out to God: “What an awesome God we serve! Look what He has done; saving us from the very clutches of the Egyptians. What an amazing victory He has brought about for us today. What a Mighty God we serve; the One, True God. He is our strength, our song, our very salvation; there is no one like Him. He is “MY” God and I will cry out in adoration and devotion. He was my father’s God and I will glorify and worship His Name. Jehovah is a Mighty Champion Warrior; there is no one like Him. He is God, through and through. I will trust Him.” -Tonia’s Translation

The song goes on to describe God’s mighty victory. I wonder if we have taken the time lately to sing of the Mighty acts of God. Have we taken the time to let God know how much we appreciate Him for who He is in our lives? Let us take time today to sing or express our praise and adoration of the One, True God.

My Prayer:
Lord God, You are indeed the reason that I live. Your hand in and on my life gives me purpose and direction. The victories that you have brought about in my life fill me with hope and determination to continue this walk that we journey together. I will sing your praises; for you are my God!

Leave a Reply

