Choosing to Trust

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Exodus 4:13-17 (NIV)
But Moses said, “Pardon your servant, Lord. Please send someone else.” Then the Lord’s anger burned against Moses and he said, “What about your brother, Aaron the Levite? I know he can speak well. He is already on his way to meet you, and he will be glad to see you. You shall speak to him and put words in his mouth; I will help both of you speak and will teach you what to do. He will speak to the people for you, and it will be as if he were your mouth and as if you were God to him. But take this staff in your hand so you can perform the signs with it.”

Exodus 4:13-17 (MSG)
He said, “Oh, Master, please! Send somebody else!” God got angry with Moses: “Don’t you have a brother, Aaron the Levite? He’s good with words, I know he is. He speaks very well. In fact, at this very moment he’s on his way to meet you. When he sees you he’s going to be glad. You’ll speak to him and tell him what to say. I’ll be right there with you as you speak and with him as he speaks, teaching you step by step. He will speak to the people for you. He’ll act as your mouth, but you’ll decide what comes out of it. Now take this staff in your hand; you’ll use it to do the signs.”
********************************************
“But he said, “Please my Lord, send the message [of rescue to Israel] by [someone else,] whomever else You will [choose].” Then the anger of the Lord was kindled and burned against Moses; He said, “Is there not your brother, Aaron the Levite? I know that he speaks fluently. Also, he is coming out to meet you, and when he sees you, he will be overjoyed. You must speak to him and put the words in his mouth; I, even I, will be with your mouth and with his mouth, and I will teach you what you are to do. Moreover, he shall speak for you to the people; he will act as a mouthpiece for you, and you will be as God to him [telling him what I say to you]. You shall take in your hand this staff, with which you shall perform the signs [the miracles which prove I sent you].” -AMPLIFIED

We finally come to Moses’ last excuse/plea; which basically said, “Please, God, don’t pick me. Pick somebody else.” We find that even the ever patient God who is slow to anger can be pushed too far. Scripture tells us, “Then the anger of the Lord was kindled and burned against Moses…” At no point do we see God losing control, but we are informed that He was angry with Moses. Moses had one too many excuses.

God was done with Moses beating around the bush. It was time for action. God then provided someone to go with Moses, his brother Aaron. Aaron would become the spokesperson to the people, but Moses would be the one to tell Aaron what to say. Basically, Aaron would become Moses’ mouthpiece.

“Even self-diffidence (self-confidence), when it hinders us from duty, or clogs us in duty, is very displeasing to the Lord. But while we blame Moses for shrinking from this dangerous service, let us ask our own hearts if we are not neglecting duties more easy, and less perilous. The tongue of Aaron, with the head and heart of Moses, would make one completely fit for this errand. God promises, I will be with thy mouth, and with his mouth. Even Aaron, who could speak well, yet could not speak to purpose, unless God gave constant teaching and help; for without the constant aid of Divine grace, the best gifts will fail.” -Matthew Henry Commentary

Blatant distrust of the Lord is a sin. If God has called and commissioned you for a job, promised to go with you, equipped you, given you the words to say and even promised to teach you; there are no more excuses. Distrusting that God will do what He says He will do is a sin. Moses must have finally learned his lesson; because we can look in Deuteronomy 1:29-23 and see how he tried to teach the children of Israel of their need to trust God. “I tried to relieve your fears: “Don’t be terrified of them. God, your God, is leading the way; he’s fighting for you. You saw with your own eyes what he did for you in Egypt; you saw what he did in the wilderness, how God, your God, carried you as a father carries his child, carried you the whole way until you arrived here. But now that you’re here, you won’t trust God, your God—this same God who goes ahead of you in your travels to scout out a place to pitch camp, a fire by night and a cloud by day to show you the way to go.” (MSG)

The kicker of all of this was that Aaron was already on his way to meet Moses. There were to be no more excuses. God had already set His plan into motion. It was time! God said to Moses, “Now take this staff in your hand; you’ll use it to do the signs.” It is time to go.

How about each of us? Have we been making excuses for why we “can’t” do something that God has called us to? Are we guilty of the sin of distrust? It is time to make things right and be obedient to what God has called us to do for Him.

My Prayer:
Father, forgive me for distrusting you when you have fitted me out for your high calling. Help me to not make excuses of why I “can’t”, but remind me of why I “CAN”. For you have promised that I can do all things through Jesus Christ who gives me strength. I will trust you Lord; no more excuses!

2 thoughts on “Choosing to Trust

  1. Boy Tonia, this one is tough. Reason being I have been out of church service for three weeks now with back problems. That left the ministry of serving in the fellowship to the other ladies who have become very few left on the committee. Then this past Sunday i tried going to church but realized upon getting ready that I should stay home, then checked myself and said quit making excuses. So I went for the service only to leave a half hour into it in such pain I came home and sat on heat the rest of the day. I’ve been trying too figure if God is moving me on or what being myself and one other have been doing the work for the fellowship dinners. But then maybe it made our head deacon realize that we need to do something different. He announced this week that from June to September there would only be Sunday morning service and no bible study prayer meeting Wednesday. This scares me because I feel people will not come back in September. Lord give us direction. We are so few in numbers now. There were not even 20 ladies to get a mother’s day plant that was there for them. 😦

    Like

    1. I am so sorry you are struggling. God does not expect you to carry the whole load though. I will be praying for your physical healing and also for wisdom in what you should regarding the situation at church. Please understand, just because you physically cannot carry all you want to do, does not mean that you are not trusting God. It may be that this is not your load to carry. Be in prayer and let God guide you. I love you. Rest that back and feel better soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

