Be careful of what you wish for!

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Part 1:
Genesis 27:23-24 (NIV)
He did not recognize him, for his hands were hairy like those of his brother Esau; so he proceeded to bless him. “Are you really my son Esau?” he asked. “I am,” he replied.

Genesis 27:23-24 (MSG)
He didn’t recognize him because his hands were hairy, like his brother Esau’s. But as he was about to bless him he pressed him, “You’re sure? You are my son Esau?” “Yes. I am.”
****************************************************************
“He could not recognize him [as Jacob], because his hands were hairy like his brother Esau’s hands; so he blessed him. But he said, “Are you really my son Esau?” Jacob answered, “I am.” -AMPLIFIED

This part of God’s story has one of our main characters making a very bad choice. Here we find Jacob, with encouragement and prompting from his mother, setting out to deceive his father Isaac.

“Oh what a tangled web we weave; when first we practice to deceive.” – Sir Walter Scott (Marmion, 1808)

Scripture tells us this, “Now when Isaac was old and his eyes were too dim to see, he called his elder [and favorite] son Esau and said to him, “My son.” And Esau answered him, “Here I am.” Isaac said, “See here, I am old; I do not know when I may die. So now, please take your [hunting] gear, your quiver [of arrows] and your bow, and go out into the open country and hunt game for me; and make me a savory and delicious dish [of meat], the kind I love, and bring it to me to eat, so that my soul may bless you [as my firstborn son] before I die.” -Genesis 27:1-4 (AMP)

We sadly find in the Isaac’s household the playing of favorites among the parents. This in turn causes problems among the siblings. Isaac favors Esau and Rebekah favors Jacob. At the end of chapter 26 we find a few crucial facts that are important to our story. Esau marries two women from the local neighborhood and this was a great source of grief not only to Isaac, but especially to Rebekah.

Isaac is old and thinking ahead. He calls Esau to him in order to bestow his blessing upon him. Notice that Isaac’s eyes are dim; which would mean that he no longer could see well. It has been calculated that Isaac was possibly 137 years old at this point in time; he lived to be 180. Isaac instructs Esau to go to the field and hunt some wild game and bring it back to prepare a wonderful meal for him; all this as the precursor to the father bestowing the blessing upon the son.

Meanwhile, Rebekah is standing in the background listening to all that is happening and she decides to take matters into her own hands. This son who has displeased her by marrying the local girls will “NOT” receive the father’s blessing if she has anything to say about it; and she does. She goes to Jacob with these words, “Listen carefully: I heard your father saying to Esau your brother…” And so it begins…

“Be careful what you think, because your thoughts run your life.” -Proverbs 4:23 (NCV)

Be careful what you wish for!

My Prayer:
Lord, keep my heart pure, I pray. Let your thoughts be my thoughts. Let me follow your ways and be true to you. I do not want to be found displeasing in your sight; though I know at times I am. Forgive me please. Help me to be holy, just like you. I am so thankful that you are a God who forgives and allows your children to start fresh with you. Help me to be exactly who you want me to be. I give you control.

Leave a Reply

