Jehovah Jireh

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Genesis 22:7-8 (NIV)
Isaac spoke up and said to his father Abraham, “Father?“ Yes, my son?” Abraham replied. “The fire and wood are here,” Isaac said, “but where is the lamb for the burnt offering?” Abraham answered, “God himself will provide the lamb for the burnt offering, my son.” And the two of them went on together.
Genesis 22:7-8 (MSG)
Isaac said to Abraham his father, “Father?” “Yes, my son.” “We have flint and wood, but where’s the sheep for the burnt offering?” Abraham said, “Son, God will see to it that there’s a sheep for the burnt offering.” And they kept on walking together.
**********************************************
“And Isaac said to Abraham, “My father!” And he said, “Here I am, my son.” Isaac said, “Look, the fire and the wood, but where is the lamb for the burnt offering?” Abraham said, “My son, God will provide for Himself a lamb for the burnt offering.” So the two walked on together.” -Amplified
“God will provide…”; words of wisdom spoken by a man of great amazing faith. Father and son begin their hike to the top of the mountain; Abraham knew what was about to happen, Isaac had no idea. God, though, had a plan; a great amazing plan to provide for Abraham and Isaac. This plan went beyond the provision of a replacement lamb for the place of Isaac. God’s plan was to provide a replacement LAMB for all of mankind.
Abraham knew…Jehovah Jireh would provide One way or another Abraham knew God would take care of them; God would come through for them. “Abraham had complete faith and trust in God. Because God’s covenant with him depended on Isaac, Abraham may have anticipated that God would reveal to him an alternative to the sacrifice of Isaac, as He in fact did (vv 11-13). But Abraham was determined to carry out what God had commanded him to do, because of his faith in God’s promise.” -(Amplified footnote)
Every one of us have needs in our lives that we desire Jehovah Jireh would take care of in our lives. He took care of so many others needs throughout His-story.
1.) For Abraham He provided a lamb.
2.) For David He provided protection and direction.
3.) For Solomon He provided wisdom.
4.) For the Israelites God provided manna.
5.) For Joshua He provided strength and courage.
6.) For the World He provided the Lamb of God that would take away their sin.
Jehovah Jireh, our Provider! “Therefore do not worry or be anxious (perpetually uneasy, distracted), saying, ‘What are we going to eat?’ or ‘What are we going to drink?’ or ‘What are we going to wear?’ For the [pagan] Gentiles eagerly seek all these things; [but do not worry,] for your heavenly Father knows that you need them.” -Matthew 6:31-32 (AMP)
God knows what each of us is in need of and He has already set the answer into action; we must trust Him and believe that truth. As He provided for Abraham and Isaac; so too will He provide for you. “And my God will liberally supply (fill until full) your every need according to His riches in glory in Christ Jesus.” -Philippians 4:19 (AMP)
My Prayer:
Jehovah Jireh, you are my Provider. I believe that truth and I will trust in you; even when I may not see the answer. Lord, oft times I become discourage in the waiting, forgive me, and help me trust you no matter what I may see with my physical eyes. Just as Isaac trusted Abraham and Abraham trusted you; let me have a trusting heart too. You have never let me down before and I know you are not about to let me down now. You are a Faithful God. You are my Loving Father. You are Jehovah Jireh, my Provider; knowing exactly what I need and setting the answer into motion even before I have need of it. You are a good, good God!
Leave a Reply

