Teach me your ways, Lord.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=obi5ZGujiuU

Growing with God: A daily devotional with Tonia Slimm.

Psalm 86:11-12 (NIV)
Teach me your way, Lord, that I may rely on your faithfulness; give me an undivided heart, that I may fear your name. I will praise you, Lord my God, with all my heart; I will glorify your name forever.

Psalm 86:11-12 (MSG)
Train me, God, to walk straight; then I’ll follow your true path. Put me together, one heart and mind; then, undivided, I’ll worship in joyful fear. From the bottom of my heart I thank you, dear Lord; I’ve never kept secret what you’re up to.
*********************************************************************
“Teach me Your way, O Lord, I will walk and live in Your truth;
Direct my heart to fear Your name [with awe-inspired reverence and submissive wonder]. I will give thanks and praise You, O Lord my God, with all my heart; and will glorify Your name forevermore.” -AMPLIFIED

Psalm 86 is another prayer of David. He implores God to; “Incline Your ear, O Lord, and answer me, for I am distressed and needy [I long for Your help]. Protect my life (soul), for I am godly and faithful; O You my God, save Your servant, who trusts in You [believing in You and relying on You, confidently committing everything to You]. Be gracious and merciful to me, O Lord, for to You I cry out all the day long.” Psalm 86:1-3 (AMP)

David, in turn, pleads with God to “Teach me your way”; God, instruct me, show me Your way, direct me in how it is done. God, demonstrate your way, so that I can follow your way with an undivided, submissive, way. My wish is to honor you in all I do.

Charles Spurgeon shares these thoughts on Psalm 86:11. “Teach me thy way, O LORD. Instruct me thus at all times, let me live in thy school; but teach me now especially since I am in trouble and perplexity. Be pleased to shew me the way which thy wisdom and mercy have prepared for my escape; behold I lay aside all willfulness, and only desire to be informed as to thy holy and gracious mind. Not my ways give me, but thy way teach me, I would follow thee and not be willful. I will walk in thy truth. When taught I will practice what I know, truth shall not be a mere doctrine or sentiment to me, but a matter of daily life.” (Treasury of David)

David’s heart’s desire was to learn God’s way; His mercy, love, and grace. Why? So that he, David, could worship, praise and glorify God with all that was within him and also for this fact, “For great is your love toward me; you have delivered me from the depths, from the realm of the dead.” (vs. 13) It is God who has saved us and not we ourselves.

Teach me your ways, Oh Lord. Instruct me in your ways of grace. Tutor me in your boundless love. Develop within me an understanding, non-judgmental attitude towards others. Allow your Holy Spirit to train me to honor you in all things. “Show me your ways, LORD, teach me your paths.” -Psalm 25:4 (NIV)

From time to time it is important to do a heart check and see where we are in our walk with God. Do we continue to have a pliable spirit? Are we open to His instruction and teaching? Are we growing and bearing fruit? Are we becoming more and more like Jesus? If not it is time to ask God’s forgiveness and invite Him once again to teach us His way. If we do see progress in our spiritual life it is still of great importance to strive to honor God in every area of our lives. Our attitude should always be, “This is my desire, Lord, to honor you.”

My Prayer:

Lord, it is my desire to honor you in all I say and do. I ask that you would teach me to be more like Jesus. Teach me your way and help me to walk in it. Tutor me in your love and compassion. Let your grace be in me as I encounter others. In this Lord, also allow me to have a good attitude and a heart of praise. My wish is always to bring glory, honor and praise to your Name. Here I am Lord, use me for your glory.

Leave a Reply

